Better late than never…

It took me FOREVER, for some reason, to get my thoughts down about the trip back from Florida.
After four hot, muggy, wonderful weeks in Florida, I hit the road and began heading back to Texas on March 8th, right after work. I went ahead and took that friday off work, because there were a couple of places in Florida and Louisiana that I still really wanted to visit on the way back.

St. Augustine Lighthouse

I pushed straight through to St. Augustine thursday night because it was a full moon, and I wanted to try to get some pix of the lighthouse with the full moon framed in them. I arrived at the lighthouse shortly after midnight and poked around a little. The lighthouse is gorgeous at night, and the groves of large, gnarled trees around it all seemed to be reaching for the lighthouse with their branches. I walked around a little, getting a few pics and saying hi to the trees, then headed out to the boat landing across the street.
As I walked by, this tiny yappy dog did what it does best, and apparently somebody called the police. Shortly thereafter, a police car drove by and I waved and smiled, and he nodded, driving on as I walked back over to the van. He parked at the end of the parking lot and didn’t leave until I finished programming in my next set of directions to the GPS and headed out.

inside the St. Augustine Lighthouse

I found a truck stop to rest for the night, then headed back to the lighthouse, wanting to get shots of it in the morning light. I also  really wanted to take the tour. Apparently, there’s a choice of tours – you can do your own walkabout, where they give you a little speakerbox that narrates each point on the tour – or you could go in a group. I’m not one for crowded tours, and a TON of older folks were wandering around, having just piled out of two tour buses across the road. It was like being in a surreal version of Cocoon. The climb up the stairs to the top is pretty grueling, but well worth it. The view is spectacular and the breeze is simply fantastic. Below, there’s a tropical hammock that you can walk through, full of beautiful plants and a wide variety of birds. Well worth a visit, IMHO.

Fountain of Youth

I then pressed on to Ponce De Leon’s Fountain of Youth a ways down the road, which was both impressive and anticlimactic. The grounds are completely gorgeous, and the re-enactors are really friendly. The fountain, however, is just a little trickle cordoned off by a rickety looking fence inside a small, dark room. There are two dioramas inside the room – one of the explorer with the locals, and another of a generic local setting with the natives. To the right of the ‘fountain’ are a selection of cups full of water. A friendly park employee urged me to drink. “It’s healthy! Full of minerals!”

It was tasty water, but I still feel 44. Ah, well.

Fountain of Youth

Afterwards, realizing that I hadn’t eaten yet that morning, I headed over to a little supposedly haunted inn that was serving breakfast. Not only was the food delicious, I ended up striking up a conversation with a guy that was disappointed that I was only passing through – he’d wanted to take me to dinner and have his wife meet me. I found out as we exchanged business cards that he was a hypnotherapist. Interesting guy. I love serendipitous conversations. It’s really one of my favorite things in life.

Florida Caverns State Park – Marianna, FL

After that, I headed straight for Florida Caverns State Park in Marianna, FL. The park itself is gorgeous, but I never did get to see the cave. Apparently, there’s a rule/law/bullshit excuse stating that, in florida, if there’s only one person interested in a tour of the caves, the guide can’t take them. If there had been ONE OTHER PERSON iterested in going on the last tour of the day with me, I would’ve gotten to do the tour. I’m still irritated as hell about that. I didn’t venture out and about in the park too much since it was muggy, overcast and the mosquitos were COMPLETELY overbearing and ridiculous. Even thorugh Deep Woods off and garlic pills. I love nature, but at some point it gets to be enough. And seriously – mosquitos… what purpose do they serve? Other than spreading disease? Oh, how I hate them.

Outside the National Hansen’s Disease Museum/National Leprosarium in Carville, Louisiana

Then it was a quick dash through downtown New Orleans before pressing on to the National Hansen’s Disease Museum/National Leprosarium in Carville, Louisiana. It’s located in Building 12 of the Carville Historic District, 5445 Point Clair Road, Carville. Very splendidly put together and lovingly presented, the Museum’s intent is to “preserve and interpret the medical and cultural artifacts of the Carville Historic District and to promote the understanding, identification and treatment of Hansen’s Disease”. HIGHLY recommended. It was a very moving collection of displays.

The Myrtles Plantation – St. Francisville, Louisiana

I then drove out to the Myrtles Plantation, and must say I found the grounds more appealing than the buildings themselves. I didn’t get any overwhelming feelings of a presence until I stood in front of the painting of this young girl. According to the tour guide, the artist had started painting while she was still alive, but she died before he had a chance to finish it – so they propped her up so he could do the rest of the work. There was something very compelling about the image. It’s stayed with me since my visit. The grounds are completely gorgeous. I walked around entranced, taking as many pictures as I could. Ah, spanish moss. Is there anything you can’t do?

The Myrtles Plantation – St. Francisville, Louisiana

From there, it was pretty much a straight shot back to Texas.
GOOD trip.
One thought on “Better late than never…

  1. Pingback: TRAVELOG: Better late than never… | Jhada Addams - Superhero at Large

Leave a Reply

