I don’t know when I became a wanderer. At a young age I left the home I grew up in early to live with my mother. I’ve been moving at least every other year, it seems, for most of my life – never really finding a place to settle down. I have a fair amount of friends that would love to be able to do what I’m doing, but I’ve also met many who would rather have their eyeteeth pulled out than throw caution to the wind and live the life I’m currently engaged with.

Throughout the course of this trip, I’m finding that it’s difficult to stay for more than two weeks in any one place. I think I’m allergic to routine. There’s something in my psyche that keeps pushing me to go out and experience new places, and I find myself wondering if I’m going to end up scraping together the money for a full-on RV at the end of the trip, or whether I’m going to actually find a house or apartment in a location that I would love to wake up in every morning. In the end it doesn’t matter – it’s the trip, not the destination.

I’ve been told that I’m inspiring people, and I’m really happy that others are getting as much out of the experience that I am.

This continues to be a tremendous learning experience, and I’m delighted at the changes in myself; in the way I see and interact with the world the more I travel. I’m finding that I’m a great deal more self confident than I used to be, which is HUGE. I’m not second guessing myself as much. Sure, there’s still self doubt at times, but it’s nowhere near as overwhelming as when I was back in Virginia, just surviving and not really doing much of anything. I wonder if this trip will inspire me to write more at some point. I think it’s still new, big and shiny, and that’s keeping me from hunkering down and beginning a large project. I wonder if I’ll get back to writing music at some point, or actually get the stones to audition to sing for a jazz/blues band in the future, which is one of my big dreams. I’m getting closer to being able to do it, though. I can feel it.

I crave new sights, new terrains. I’m more excited than I can say about getting out to the Olympic Forest this weekend. I’m fairly jumpy about it. What I wouldn’t give to be able to live in a small cabin deep in the woods amongst enormous tree trunks and thick wooded areas covered in ferns and moss. The operative issue would be power and internet service, however, which are the things that keep me from moving too far away from ‘the grid’.

I love my life, and I love who I’m becoming through this experience. Thank you to all of you for your support; to all who keep reading and following my adventures. It means more than I can say. I only wish I could take you with me for some of it.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Yayy!! I am so happy to hear about your discoveries – both of distant lands and of yourself! And I am jealous (in the best possible way) of both. I can’t wait to hear about the Olympic Forest. I saw the Mossy walk in the Hoh Rainforest, but I can’t remember the name of the trail now.. Hall of Mosses? Something like that. Are you going to La Push?

    • I’m going to both Forks and La Push. Oddly enough, the Twilight movies got me all worked up to see the Pacific Northwest. I fell in love with the forests, as opposed to the story. 🙂 I gotta say, I’m looking forward to seeing how overblown the Twilight stuff is in Forks. I hear it’s hilarious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

