I just realized that I didn’t post about the San Juan Islands. Unfortunately, the plan to hit the San Juan islands was kind of a dud, and I’m still kinda bummed about it. I did get to run around a little bit, which was lovely – because the area is completely gorgeous, but ended up breakin’ out for Oregon earlier than intended due to car issues. The transmission started acting up again, which was very stressing – but thank goodness, ended up being a cheap, quick fix.
 
Friday night, I checked out Deception Pass Bridge. It’s a fairly impressive bridge, coupled with the Canoe Pass bridge, that links Whidbey Island to Fidalgo Island. Lots of tourists walk along the span of the bridge, taking pictures and checking out the scenery. There are walkways along the two lane bridge that allow for safe passage and the only way for pedestrians to cross is to take the stairs and go beneath it. (pics)
 
The first stop that saturday was to Fort Casey State Park on Whidbey Island, a large concrete installation that several concealed enormous seacoast artillery guns. There are a couple of the large guns that are still there; apparently having been salvaged from other forts. Groups of runners seem to use the spot to distance run from the lighthouse up on the hill down to the installation itself. It was pretty cool to walk in, around and on everything, and I got a good collection of pictures.
 
My plan of hitting Moran State Park was thwarted due to the $112 in ferry tolls it would have taken to get there and back. I hadn’t budgeted for that kind of money, so Moran was a no go.
3 thoughts on “

  1. Wow – Deception Pass is lovely! I hope you are having a safe and enjoyable journey back down south. If you happen to still be around and about the Bay Area this week, let me know. ^-^

  2. It really is! The San Juan Islands are very beautiful 🙂

    I arrived in Redondo Beach, CA two weeks ago. I’m staying with a friend currently for another two weeks, then will be heading to Albuquerque, NM for the hot air balloon festival. I’ll be back ’round near you next year at some point. I’m sorry I missed you 😦

    Oh! And I got my lip tattooed yesterday! I’ll be posting about it later 🙂 Pix are on my FB.

  3. Pingback: Jhada Addams - Superhero at Large

Leave a Reply

